You're Invited! Join us as we work to restore health to the beautiful North Branch natural areas. We welcome all who care about the preserves. No need to be experienced, the stewards will provide instructions, tools and usually, a snack to enjoy at mid-workday break!

If you plan to bring a group larger than a half dozen or so, please contact the steward ahead of time, to be sure that the work planned can accommodate a large number of volunteers and that we have plenty of supplies on hand. Click on the workday you’re interested in to get to the page with contact information.

SCHEDULE OF WORKDAYS FOR WINTER/SPRING 2016–17

ALL WORKDAYS ARE 3 HOURS UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED

Saturday, November 26, 2016
Bunker Hill Savanna 9am

Sunday, November 27, 2016
Harms Woods 9am
Somme Woods 10am

Saturday, December 3, 2016
Somme Prairie Nature Preserve 10am
Labagh-Hernandez Woods 10am

Sunday, December 4, 2016
Forest Glen Woods 10am
Somme Woods East 9am

Saturday, December 10, 2016
Clayton Smith Flatwoods 10am
Indian Road Woods 10am
Linne Woods 9am
Somme Prairie Grove * 9am

Sunday, December 11, 2016
Labagh-Hernandez Woods 10am

Saturday, December 17, 2016
Forest Glen Woods 10am
Linne Prairie 9am
Somme Woods East 9am

Sunday, December 18, 2016
Blue Star Woods 10am
North Branch Community Day

Saturday, December 24, 2016
Somme Woods East 9am

Saturday, December 31, 2016
Harms Woods 9am

Sunday, January 1, 2017
Somme Woods 10am

Monday, January 2, 2017
Somme Prairie Grove * 1pm

Saturday, January 7, 2017
Forest Glen Woods 10am
Oxbow Prairie 9am
Somme Prairie Grove * 9am

Sunday, January 8, 2017
Labagh-Hernandez Woods 10am
Somme Prairie Nature Preserve 10am

Saturday, January 14, 2017
Harms Flatwoods 9am
Linne Woods 9am
Somme Woods East 9am

Sunday, January 15, 2017
Harms Woods 9am
North Branch Community Day

Monday, January 16, 2017
Bunker Hill Savanna 10am
Somme Prairie Grove * 1pm

Saturday, January 21, 2017
Forest Glen Woods 10am
Harms Woods East 9am
Linne Prairie 9am
Somme Woods 9am

Sunday, January 22, 2017
Wayside Woods Prairie 9am

Saturday, January 28, 2017
Indian Road Woods 10am
Labagh-Hernandez Woods 10am
Watersmeet Prairie Grove 9am

Sunday, January 29, 2017
Blue Star Woods 10am
Somme Woods East 9am

Saturday, February 4, 2017
Harms Flatwoods 9am
Somme Prairie Grove * 9am

Sunday, February 5, 2017
Harms Woods 9am

Saturday, February 11, 2017
Clayton Smith Flatwoods 10am
Linne Woods 9am
Somme Woods East 9am

Sunday, February 12, 2017
Harms Flatwoods 9am
North Branch Community Day

Saturday, February 18, 2017
Linne Prairie 9am
WildThings

Sunday, February 19, 2017
Forest Glen Woods 10am
Somme Woods 9am

Monday, February 20, 2017
Somme Prairie Grove * 1pm

Saturday, February 25, 2017
Indian Road Woods 10am
Labagh-Hernandez Woods 10am
Somme Prairie Nature Preserve 10am
Watersmeet Prairie Grove 9am

Sunday, February 26, 2017
Miami Woods Prairie 9am
Somme Woods East 9am

Saturday, March 4, 2017
Somme Prairie Grove * 9am

Sunday, March 5, 2017
Labagh-Hernandez Woods 10am
North Branch Community Day

Saturday, March 11, 2017
Forest Glen Woods 10am
Harms Flatwoods 9am
Linne Woods 9am

Sunday, March 12, 2017
Clayton Smith Flatwoods 10am
Somme Woods East 9am

Saturday, March 18, 2017
Bunker Hill Savanna 9am
Somme Prairie Nature Preserve 10am

Sunday, March 19, 2017
Somme Woods 9am
Watersmeet Prairie Grove 9am

Saturday, March 25, 2017
Harms Flatwoods 9am
Labagh-Hernandez Woods 10am
Somme Woods East 9am

Sunday, March 26, 2017
Blue Star Woods 10am

 Printable Calendar

* Park at Somme Woods

Note: there are two different meeting places for the Somme Preserves. Please check directions to each site carefully.

SPECIAL EVENTS

North Branch Community Days
Once a month, we schedule a workday at a single site to give North Branch folks the opportunity to come together as a community. Here are the upcoming Community Days. Join us for camaraderie, good food, great work and maybe enjoy a site you haven't seen before!

Sunday, December 18, 2016
Blue Star Woods 10am

Sunday, January 15, 2017
Harms Woods 9am

Sunday, February 12, 2017
Harms Flatwoods 9am

Sunday, March 5, 2017
Labagh-Hernandez Woods 10am

 

Wild Things 2017
This day-long conference brings together the region’s best experts, hardest working professionals, most dedicated volunteers and anyone interested in nature.

When:
February 18, 2017 | 9am - 6pm Doors Open at 8:00am
 
Where:
UIC Forum, 725 W Roosevelt Rd, Chicago, IL 60608

Visit the Wild Things website to register for the event, choose your favorite programs, and volunteer to help!

 

   
Contact Us    |                   © 2016 NBRP.    Site design and development, Sandbox Studio, Chicago.