You're Invited! Join us as we work to restore health to the beautiful North Branch natural areas. We welcome all who care about the preserves. No need to be experienced, the stewards will provide instructions, tools and usually, a snack to enjoy at mid-workday break!

If you plan to bring a group larger than a half dozen or so, please contact the steward ahead of time, to be sure that the work planned can accommodate a large number of volunteers and that we have plenty of supplies on hand. Click on the workday you’re interested in to get to the page with contact information.

SCHEDULE OF WORKDAYS FOR SUMMER-FALL 2015

ALL WORKDAYS ARE 9AM – NOON UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED

Saturday, December 5, 2015
Somme Woods East (10-1)

Sunday, December 6, 2015
Spicebush Woods Community Day

Saturday, December 12, 2015
Linne Woods
Somme Prairie Nature Preserve
Indian Road Woods
Watersmeet Prairie Grove

Sunday, December 13, 2015
Harms Woods
Somme Woods East (10-2)

Saturday, December 19, 2015
Spicebush Woods (10-1)

Sunday, December 20, 2015
Harms Flatwoods
Somme Woods East (10-1)
and Winter Solstice (2-5)

Sunday, December 27, 2015
Somme Prairie Grove *

Friday, January 1, 2015
Somme Woods (10-2)

Saturday, January 2, 2016
Labagh-Hernandez Woods (12-3)

Sunday, January 3, 2016
Somme Woods East (10-1)

Saturday, January 9, 2016
Indian Road Woods
Somme Prairie Nature Preserve (10-1)

Sunday, January 10, 2016
Bunker Hill Savanna
Somme Woods

Saturday, January 16, 2016
Labagh-Hernandez Woods (12-3)
Linne Woods
Spicebush Woods

Sunday, January 17, 2016
Somme Woods East (10-1)
Wayside Woods Prairie CANCELLED DUE TO EXTREME WEATHER

Monday, January 18, 2016
Somme Woods East (10-1)

Saturday, January 23, 2016
Blue Star Woods (10-1)
Somme Woods
Watersmeet Prairie Grove

Sunday, January 24, 2016
Harms Woods
Somme Woods East (10-1)

Saturday, January 30, 2016
Linne Prairie
Somme Woods East (10-1)

Sunday, January 31, 2016
Harms Flatwoods Community Day

 

Saturday, February 6, 2016
Labagh-Hernandez Woods (12-3)
Somme Prairie Nature Preserve

Sunday, February 7, 2016
Bunker Hill Savanna
Somme Woods East (10-1)

Saturday, February 13, 2016
Indian Road Woods
Linne Woods
Somme Woods East (10-1)

Sunday, February 14, 2016
Harms Woods Community Day

Saturday, February 20, 2016
Harms Flatwoods
Spicebush Woods
Somme Woods East (10-1)

Sunday, February 21, 2016
Sauganash Prairie Grove
Somme Woods

Saturday, February 27, 2016
Labagh-Hernandez Woods (12-3)
Linne Prairie
Oxbow Prairie
Watersmeet Prairie Grove

Sunday, February 28, 2016
Miami Woods Prairie
Somme Woods East (10-1)

Saturday, March 5, 2016
Harms Woods East
Somme Woods East (10-1)

Sunday, March 6, 2016
Somme Prairie Nature Preserve Community Day

Saturday, March 12, 2016
Labagh-Hernandez Woods (12-3)
Indian Road Woods
Linne Woods
Somme Woods

Sunday, March 13, 2016
Somme Woods East (10-1)
Watersmeet Prairie Grove

Saturday, March 19, 2016
Oxbow Prairie
Spicebush Woods
Somme Woods East (10-1)

Sunday, March 20, 2016
Somme Prairie Grove *
Bunker Hill Savanna

Saturday, March 26, 2016
Harms Flatwoods
Somme Woods East (10-1)

Sunday, March 27, 2016
Sauganash Prairie/Labagh Woods(10-1)
Somme Woods

 Printable Calendar

* Park at Somme Woods

Note: there are two different meeting places for the Somme Preserves. Please check directions to each site carefully.

SPECIAL EVENTS

North Branch Annual Seed Processing Day
Saturday November 21st

In spite of the snow, over 60 intrepid North Branch people came to process the harvest! The day was filled with lots of good food, laughter and an amazing amount of work. Thanks to all who joined in!

North Branch Community Days
Once a month, we schedule a workday at a single site to give North Branch folks the opportunity to come together as a community. Here are the upcoming Community Days. Join us for camaraderie, good food, great work and maybe enjoy a site you haven't seen before!

Dec 6th (9 to noon)
Spicebush Woods

Jan 31st (9 to noon)
Harms Flatwoods

Feb 14th (9 to noon)
Harms Woods

Mar 6th (9 to noon)
Somme Prairie Nature Preserve

 

   
Contact Us    |                   © 2015 NBRP.    Site design and development, Sandbox Studio, Chicago.