You're Invited! Join us as we work to restore health to the beautiful North Branch natural areas. We welcome all who care about the preserves. No need to be experienced, the stewards will provide instructions, tools and usually, a snack to enjoy at mid-workday break!

If you plan to bring a group larger than a half dozen or so, please contact the steward ahead of time, to be sure that the work planned can accommodate a large number of volunteers and that we have plenty of supplies on hand. Click on the workday you’re interested in to get to the page with contact information.

SCHEDULE OF WORKDAYS FOR SUMMER/FALL 2016

ALL WORKDAYS ARE 3 HOURS UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED

Saturday, July 23, 2016
Forest Glen Woods 10am
Somme Woods East 10am
Watersmeet Prairie Grove 9am

Sunday, July 24, 2016
Labagh-Hernandez Woods 10am

Saturday, July 30, 2016
Indian Road Woods 9am

Sunday, July 31, 2016
Clayton Smith Flatwoods 10am
Somme Woods East 10am

Saturday, August 6, 2016
Oxbow Prairie 9am
Somme Woods 10am

Sunday, August 7, 2016
Labagh-Hernandez Woods 10am

Saturday, August 13, 2016
Linne Woods 9am
Somme Woods East 10am

Sunday, August 14, 2016
Bunker Hill Savanna 9am

Saturday, August 20, 2016
Clayton Smith Flatwoods 10am
Somme Prairie Grove * 10am

Sunday, August 21, 2016
Blue Star Woods 9am

Saturday, August 27, 2016
Labagh-Hernandez Woods 10am
Oxbow Prairie 9am
Somme Woods East 10am

Sunday, August 28, 2016
Sauganash Prairie Grove 9am

Saturday, September 3, 2016
Linne Woods 9am
Somme Prairie Nature Preserve 9am

Sunday, September 4, 2016
Somme Woods 10am

Monday, September 5, 2016
Somme Prairie Grove * 10am

Saturday, September 10, 2016
Indian Road Woods 9am
Labagh-Hernandez Woods 10am
Somme Woods East 10am

Sunday, September 11, 2016
Forest Glen Woods 10am

Saturday, September 17, 2016
Bunker Hill Savanna 9am
Somme Prairie Grove * 10am
Watersmeet Prairie Grove 9am

Sunday, September 18, 2016
Clayton Smith Flatwoods 10am

Saturday, September 24, 2016
Blue Star Woods 9am
NATIONAL PUBLIC LANDS DAY

Sunday, September 25, 2016
Labagh-Hernandez Woods 10am
Somme Woods East 10am

Saturday, October 1, 2016
Forest Glen Woods 10am
Somme Prairie Nature Preserve 9am

Sunday, October 2, 2016
Blue Star Woods 10am
Somme Woods 10am

Saturday, October 8, 2016
Linne Woods 9am
Somme Woods East 10am

Sunday, October 9, 2016
Harms Woods 9am

Monday, October 10, 2016
Somme Prairie Grove * 10am

Saturday, October 15, 2016
Kent Fuller Air Station Prairie 9am
Blue Star Woods 10am
Indian Road Woods 9am
Somme Prairie Grove * 10am

Sunday, October 16, 2016
Miami Woods Prairie 9am

Saturday, October 22, 2016
Bunker Hill Savanna 9am
Watersmeet Prairie Grove 9am

Sunday, October 23, 2016
Kent Fuller Air Station Prairie 9am
Somme Woods East 10am
Harms Woods East 1-4pm 

Saturday, October 29, 2016
Linne Prairie 9am
Somme Prairie Nature Preserve 9am

Sunday, October 30, 2016
Harms Flatwoods 9am
Somme Woods 10am

Saturday, November 5, 2016
Forest Glen Woods 10am
Miami Woods Prairie 9am
Oxbow Prairie 9am
Somme Woods East 10am

Sunday, November 6, 2016
Watersmeet Prairie Grove 9am
NB community day

Saturday, November 12, 2016
Blue Star Woods 10am
Indian Road Woods 9am
Linne Woods 9am
Somme Prairie Nature Preserve 9am

Sunday, November 13, 2016
Wayside Woods Prairie 9am
Somme Prairie Grove * 10am

Saturday, November 19, 2016
NBRP Seed processing

Sunday, November 20, 2016
Harms Flatwoods 9am
Somme Woods East 10am

Saturday, November 26, 2016
Bunker Hill Savanna 9am

Sunday, November 27, 2016
Harms Woods 9am
Somme Woods 10am

 

 Printable Calendar

* Park at Somme Woods

Note: there are two different meeting places for the Somme Preserves. Please check directions to each site carefully.

SPECIAL EVENTS


NATIONAL PUBLIC LANDS DAY SATURDAY, SEPTEMBER 24th, 9:00AM-3:00PM

Would you like to join a multitude of folks and have some fun doing something powerful? National Public Lands Day is an annual event where volunteers gather to care for our public lands. This year the North Branch Restoration Project will observe the day at Blue Star Woods. We'll be cutting brush and collecting some priority seeds to use in restoring native plants.

NORTH BRANCH COMMUNITY DAYS
SUNDAY NOVEMBER 6TH 9am

On one or more selected dates, we schedule a workday at a single site where North Branch folks come together as a community. This 6th of November we will work from 9am til noon at Watersmeet Prairie Grove to continue the restoration of this unique natural community. Join us for camaraderie, good food, great work and maybe enjoy a site you haven't seen before! Save the date and let us know if you'll be there!

NBRP SEED PROCESSING DAY
SATURDAY, NOVEMBER 19th
9:00AM – 2:00PM (approx)

Emily Oaks Nature Center
4650 Brummel St., Skokie

One of the great North Branch traditions is the annual seed processing event. All through the growing season, dedicated volunteers have been collecting seed of over 150 native species from North Branch sites. On Saturday, we will hand process all those seeds and distribute them into a dozen or more mixes by habitat type. Stewards will use shares of these rich seed mixes to restore the native plants to the North Branch forest preserves.

Join us in this important end-of-season work – and bring a dish or snack to share with your fellow volunteers!

Directions to Emily Oaks Nature Center: from Skokie Blvd/Cicero Ave, go east on Howard St. to Knox Ave. Turn north on Knox, go two blocks to Brummel St. Turn west and go one block to the parking area at the Nature Center, on the north side of Brummel. Follow the signs to the processing area.

   
Contact Us    |                   © 2016 NBRP.    Site design and development, Sandbox Studio, Chicago.