You're Invited! Join us as we work to restore health to the beautiful North Branch natural areas. We welcome all who care about the preserves. No need to be experienced, the stewards will provide instructions, tools and usually, a snack to enjoy at mid-workday break!

If you plan to bring a group larger than a half dozen or so, please contact the steward ahead of time, to be sure that the work planned can accommodate a large number of volunteers and that we have plenty of supplies on hand. Click on the workday you’re interested in to get to the page with contact information.

SCHEDULE OF WORKDAYS FOR SUMMER/FALL 2017

ALL WORKDAYS ARE 3 HOURS UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED

Saturday, July 15, 2017
Labagh-Hernandez Woods 10am
Linne Prairie 9am
Somme Prairie Grove 9am

Sunday, July 16, 2017
Clayton Smith Flatwoods 10am

Saturday, July 22, 2017
Forest Glen Woods 10am

Sunday, July 23, 2017
Somme Woods East 9am

Saturday, July 29, 2017
Blue Star Woods 10am

Sunday, July 30, 2017
Labagh-Hernandez Woods 10am
Somme Woods 9am

Saturday, August 5, 2017
Somme Prairie Grove 7am

Sunday, August 6, 2017
Forest Glen Woods 10am

Saturday, August 12, 2017
Bunker Hill Savanna 9am
Linne Woods 9am
Somme Woods East 7am

Sunday, August 13, 2017
Clayton Smith Flatwoods 10am

Saturday, August 19, 2017
Blue Star Woods 10am CANCELLED
Linne Prairie 9am

Sunday, August 20, 2017
Labagh-Hernandez Woods 10am
Somme Prairie Grove 7am

Saturday, August 26, 2017
Somme Woods East 7am
Watersmeet Prairie Grove 9am

Sunday, August 27, 2017
Forest Glen Woods 10am

Saturday, September 2, 2017
Somme Prairie Nature Preserve 9am

Sunday, September 3, 2017
Somme Woods 9am

Saturday, September 9, 2017
Linne Woods 9am
Indian Road Woods 9am
Somme Woods East 9am

Sunday, September 10, 2017
Forest Glen Woods 10am

Saturday, September 16, 2017
Blue Star Woods 10am
Bunker Hill Savanna 9am
Somme Prairie Grove 9am

Sunday, September 17, 2017
Kent Fuller Air Station Prairie 9am
Wayside Woods Prairie 9am

Saturday, September 23, 2017
Watersmeet Prairie Grove 9am
Forest Glen Woods 10am

Sunday, September 24, 2017
Clayton Smith Flatwoods 10am
Somme Woods East 9am

Saturday, September 30, 2017
Labagh-Hernandez Woods 10am

Sunday, October 1, 2017
Miami Woods Prairie 9am
Somme Woods 9am

Saturday, October 7, 2017
Linne Woods 9am
Somme Woods East 9am

Sunday, October 8, 2017
Harms Flatwoods 9am
Forest Glen Woods 10am

Sunday, October 15, 2017
Blue Star Woods 10am
Harms Woods 9am
Somme Prairie Grove 9am

Saturday, October 21, 2017
Labagh-Hernandez Woods 10am
Linne Prairie 9am
Somme Woods East 9am
Watersmeet Prairie Grove 9am

Sunday, October 22, 2017
Clayton Smith Flatwoods 10am
Somme Prairie Nature Preserve 9am
Indian Road Woods 9am

Saturday, October 28, 2017
Bunker Hill Savanna 9am
Forest Glen Woods 10am
Miami Woods Prairie 9am

Sunday, October 29, 2017
Harms Flatwoods 9am
Somme Woods 9am

Saturday, November 4, 2017
Kent Fuller Air Station Prairie 9am
Linne Woods 9am
Somme Woods East 9am

Sunday, November 5, 2017
Harms Woods 9am
Labagh-Hernandez Woods 10am
Watersmeet Prairie Grove 9am

Saturday, November 11, 2017
Linne Prairie 9am
Harms Flatwoods 9am
Forest Glen Woods 10am
Somme Prairie Grove 9am

Sunday, November 12, 2017
Blue Star Woods 10am
Clayton Smith Flatwoods 10am
Somme Prairie Nature Preserve 9am
Indian Road Woods 9am

Saturday, November 18, 2017
NBRP Seed Processing

Sunday, November 19, 2017
Labagh-Hernandez Woods 10am
Somme Woods East 9am

Saturday, November 25, 2017
Bunker Hill Savanna 9am

Sunday, November 26, 2017
Somme Woods 9am
Wayside Woods Prairie 9am

 Printable Calendar

Note: there are two different meeting places for the Somme Preserves. Please check directions to each site carefully.

SPECIAL EVENTS

Seed Processing
Saturday, November 18, 2017
9am – 1pm
Emily Oaks Nature Center
4650 Brummel, Skokie

Over the growing season, dedicated volunteers have carefully harvested ripe native seed to help restore the plant communities in Cook County forest preserves along the North Branch of the Chicago River. Seed will be released from capsules and berries, then put into a dozen different mixes based on habitat. The mixes will go to site stewards, who will distribute them in North Branch preserves, helping to insure healthy thriving natural areas.

Please email North Branch and let us know if you can join in the work. Drinks and snacks will be provided. Feel free to bring a favorite dish to share.

 

   
Contact Us    |                   © 2017 NBRP.    Site design and development, Sandbox Studio, Chicago.