You're Invited! Join us as we work to restore health to the beautiful North Branch natural areas. We welcome all who care about the preserves. No need to be experienced, the stewards will provide instructions, tools and usually, a snack to enjoy at mid-workday break!

If you plan to bring a group larger than a half dozen or so, please contact the steward ahead of time, to be sure that the work planned can accommodate a large number of volunteers and that we have plenty of supplies on hand. Click on the workday you’re interested in to get to the page with contact information.

SCHEDULE OF WORKDAYS FOR WINTER-SPRING 2014-15

ALL WORKDAYS ARE 9AM – NOON UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED

Saturday, November 15, 2014
Watersmeet Prairie Grove

Sunday, November 16, 2014
Wayside Woods Prairie

Saturday, November 22, 2014
Seed Processing Day

Sunday, November 23, 2014
Harms Flatwoods

Saturday, November 29, 2014
Bunker Hill Savanna
Somme Prairie Nature Preserve

Sunday, November 30, 2014
Somme Woods

Saturday, December 6, 2014
Indian Road Woods
Somme Woods East / Noon to 3pm

Sunday, December 7, 2014
Somme Prairie Grove *

Saturday, December 13, 2014
Somme Woods

Sunday, December 14, 2014
Harms Woods

Saturday, December 20, 2014
Somme Prairie Nature Preserve
Watersmeet Prairie Grove

Sunday, December 21, 2014
 Somme Woods Solstice 2pm

Saturday, December 27, 2014
Somme Woods East / Noon to 3pm

Sunday, December 28, 2014
Harms Woods

Wednesday, January 1, 2015
Somme Woods 10-2

Saturday, January 3, 2015
Watersmeet Prairie Grove

Sunday, January 4, 2015

Saturday, January 10, 2015
Indian Road Woods
Linne Prairie
Somme Woods
Somme Woods East / Noon to 3pm

Sunday, January 11, 2015
Somme Prairie Nature Preserve

Saturday, January 17, 2015
Bunker Hill Savanna
Linne Woods North
Somme Prairie Grove *

Sunday, January 18, 2015
Harms Flatwoods

Saturday, January 24, 2015
Somme Woods
Somme Woods East / Noon to 3pm

 

Sunday, January 25, 2015
Sauganash Prairie Grove

Saturday, January 31, 2015
WildThings

Sunday, February 1, 2015
Harms Woods

Saturday, February 7, 2015
Harms Flatwoods
Linne Prairie
Somme Woods
Somme Woods East [Noon to 3pm]

Sunday, February 8, 2015
Bunker Hill Savanna

Saturday, February 14, 2015
Indian Road Woods
Linne Woods North
Somme Woods East [Noon to 3pm]

Sunday, February 15, 2015
Wayside Woods Prairie

Saturday, February 21, 2015
Somme Prairie Nature Preserve

Sunday, February 22, 2015
Miami Woods Prairie

Saturday, February 28, 2015
Somme Woods East / Noon to 3pm
Watersmeet Prairie Grove

Sunday, March 1, 2015
Harms Flatwoods

Saturday, March 7, 2015
Linne Prairie
Somme Prairie Grove *
Watersmeet Prairie Grove

Sunday, March 8, 2015
Somme Prairie Nature Preserve

Saturday, March 14, 2015
Indian Road Woods
Linne Woods North
Somme Woods East / Noon to 3pm

Sunday, March 15, 2015
Miami Woods Prairie

Saturday, March 21, 2015
Bunker Hill Savanna

Sunday, March 22, 2015
Oxbow Prairie

Saturday, March 28, 2015
Harms Flatwoods
Somme Woods
Somme Woods East / Noon to 3pm

Sunday, March 29, 2015
Somme Prairie Grove *

 Printable Calendar

* Park at Somme Woods

Note: there are two different meeting places for the three Somme Preserves. Please check directions to each site carefully.

SPECIAL EVENTS

NBRP SEED PROCESSING DAY
SATURDAY, NOVEMBER 22nd
9:00AM – 3:00PM (approx)
Emily Oaks Nature Center
4650 Brummel St., Skokie

Traditionally, we have chosen the Saturday before Thanksgiving for our seed processing event. Seeds of over one hundred native species have been carefully collected from North Branch sites throughout the growing season. The seeds will be hand processed using various techniques, after which the separated seeds will be distributed into 10 or 12 habitat mixes that will be scattered in management areas, restoring the healthy native plant community.

Join us in this important end-of-season work. Bring a dish or snack to share with your fellow volunteers!

Directions to Emily Oaks Nature Center: from Skokie Blvd/Cicero Ave, go east on Howard St. to Knox Ave. Turn north on Knox, go two blocks to Brummel St. Turn west and go one block to the parking area at the Nature Center, on the north side of Brummel. Follow the signs to the processing area.

 

   
Contact Us    |                   © 2015 NBRP.    Site design and development, Sandbox Studio, Chicago.